INTERREG VI-A Romania-Bulgaria 2021-2027 programme - Eligible Programme area

The programme area covers seven Romanian regions (Constanța, Calaras, Giurgiu, Teleorman, Dol, Mehedinci and Olt) and eight Bulgarian regions (Vidin, Montana, Vratsa, Pleven, Veliko Tarnovo, Ruse, Silistra and Dobrich).

They represent 19.8% of the territory of the two countries (69,285 km²), with 57.75% belonging to Romania and 43.25% to Bulgaria. The border between the two partner countries is 610 km long, of which 470 km is the water border along the Danube River. The population of the cross-border region amounts to 4.77 million inhabitants, of which 3.16 million (66%) on the territory of Romania and 1.61 million (34%) on the territory of Bulgaria.