INTERREG VI-C URBACT IV 2021-2027 Programme

The URBACT IV 2021-2027 programme is one of the four EU programmes for interregional cooperation (strand C of Interreg), which supports joint measures and projects to increase the effectiveness of cohesion policy. The programme facilitates the exchange of knowledge and good practices between cities and other levels of government. The aim is to promote integrated sustainable development in cities, improve urban policies and improve the effectiveness of urban cohesion policy.

All 27 member states of the European Union and two partner countries - Norway and Switzerland - participate in the programme. The inclusion of five EU candidate countries - Albania, Montenegro, Serbia, the Republic of North Macedonia and Bosnia and Herzegovina - is planned.

The total budget of the URBACT IV programme for the period 2021-2027 is EUR 105,903,537, of which EUR 79,769,799 is co-financing from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), EUR 23,133,738 is national co-financing from the participating Member States in the programme and EUR 3,000,000 from the Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance (IPA).

Beneficiaries of the programme can be cities from the 27 EU member states, Norway and Switzerland, IPA countries, willing to develop integrated strategies and action plans for sustainable urban development. The main target actors include practitioners, city managers, elected representatives and stakeholders from other public agencies, the private sector and civil society.

More information about the future programme can be found at its official website.