Danube Region Programme 2021-2027

The Interreg Danube Region Programme 2021-2027 is a European Transnational Cooperation Programme to promote the sharing and implementation of joint solutions to address common challenges and problems in the Danube Region, thereby bringing the participating countries and regions closer together. All challenges identified by the territorial analysis of the programme are in line with the action plan of the EU Strategy for the Danube Region (EUSDR). Accordingly, the priorities of the programme, namely: Innovations, Connectivity; Environment and Good Governance, coincide with those of the Danube Strategy.

14 countries participate in the programme, which make up the macro-region with the largest number of participating countries of all EU transnational programmes: Member States (MS): Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany (Baden-Württemberg and Bayern Bavaria), Hungary, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia; acceding countries: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Serbia, neighboring countries: Moldova and Ukraine (Chernivtsi Region, Ivano-Frankivsk Region, Zakarpattia Region, Odesa Region).

The total EU budget of the Danube Region Programme for the period 2021-2027 is EUR 215,047,857 (EUR 165,424,228 from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), EUR 30,000,000 from the Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance (IPA) and EUR 19,623,629 from the Neighbourhood, Development and International Cooperation Instrument (NDICI).

Beneficiaries of the programme can be local, regional and national public bodies/institutions, non-governmental organizations, European groups of territorial cooperation (EGTC), etc.

More information about the future programme can be found on its official page.