ESPON 2020 Cooperation Programme

The mission of ESPON 2020 is to continue the consolidation of a European Territorial Observatory Network and through the provision and policy use of comparable, systematic and reliable territorial data.

The aim of the ESPON 2020 Cooperation Programme is to support the reinforcement of the effectiveness of EU Cohesion Policy and other sectoral policies and programmes under European Structural Investment (ESI) funds as well as national and regional territorial development policies. The programme envisages an indirect support to all eleven thematic objectives covering the priorities of Europe 2020 for smart, sustainable and inclusive growth.

The ESPON 2020 Programme covers the territory of all 28 EU Member States. The 4 Partner States Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway and Switzerland will continue from the previous ESPON 2013 Programme as partners to the programme.

The total programme budget amounts to EUR 48 678 851 out of which EUR 41 377 019 EU co-financing.

The programme envisages a Single Beneficiary that submits after the invitation by the ESPON MC Operation Proposals with reference to the Operation Specifications decided by the ESPON MC. ESPON EGTC including an Assembly composed by the three Belgian regions of Flanders, Wallonia and Brussels Capital, as well as Luxembourg, plays the role of the single beneficiary of the programme.

So as to fulfil the strategy, mission and objectives related to ESPON 2020 Programme, the Programme is implemented via one Priority Axis “Territorial Evidence, Transfer, Observation, Tools and Outreach”.

The organisation of the programme implementation is closely related to the established Single Beneficiary.

Additional information can be found on the programme official website.