INTERREG V-A Greece – Bulgaria Programme 2014-2020

The INTERREG V-A Greece – Bulgaria Programme contributes to smart, sustainable and inclusive growth, as well as for economic social and territorial cohesion.

The Programme area includes 11 administrative NUTS III units: 4 districts in Bulgaria (Haskovo, Smolyan, Kardjali and Blagoevgrad) and 7 prefectures in Greece (Evros, Xanthi, Rodopi, Drama, Kavala, Thessaloniki,and Serres).

The total Programme budget is EUR 130 262 833 out of which 85% EU co-financing (EUR 110 723 408) and 15% national contribution from both partnering countries (EUR 19 539 425).

The Programme has five priority axes: “A competitive and Innovative Cross-Border area”, “A Sustainable and climate adaptable Cross-Border area”, “A better interconnected Cross-Border area” and “A socially inclusive Cross-Border area” (under which investment and “soft measures” projects are financed) and Technical Assistance Priority Axis.

Programme beneficiaries can be legal persons registered in the border region between Bulgaria and Greece and do not generate profits (local / regional / national institutions or subdivisions thereof; national and regional agencies, administrations of protected areas, local / regional administrations / forestry management administrations, cultural institutions, community centres, NGOs, educational institutions/organisations – universities, schools, colleges and libraries; Euro-regions, associations of two or more of the above institutions / organisations).

Additional information can be found on the official website of the Programme. official website