INTERREG VI-A Greece-Bulgaria 2021-2027 - Eligible Programme area

The territorial scope of the INTERREG VI-A Greece-Bulgaria 2021-2027 programme is identical to the previous programme periods - about 40,111 sq. km with a population of nearly 2.7 million inhabitants (2019).

The cross-border region covers four territorial units at the NUTS II level (two in each country), as well as 11 territorial units at the NUTS III level, located on the border between the two partner countries, namely: Haskovo, Smolyan, Kardzhali and Blagoevgrad districts on the territory of The Republic of Bulgaria and the regions of Evros, Xanthi, Rhodope, Drama, Kavala, Thessaloniki and Serres for the territory of the Republic of Greece.